Candidates for 2009 Poker HOF released

10 July 2009

LAS VEGAS, Nevada -- (PRESS RELEASE) -- After a five-week process that saw hundreds of votes cast weekly on, the public has made clear who they think should be inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame. It will now be up to the current Hall of Famers and a panel of media members to determine who actually does join this exclusive club.

The following represents the Top 10 nominated individuals at from May 26-July 2.


*Listed alphabetically without correlation to amount of nominations received

Now the process moves forward with the vetting of these candidates by the Poker Hall of Fame Governing Council, who will select the final list of candidates eligible for induction in 2009. That will be followed by the voting of the final nominees by current Hall of Fame members and a 15-person media panel. Only the 15 current Poker Hall of Fame members and the 15-person Media Panel cast votes for induction.

The criteria they will consider in their vote are as follows:

• A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
• Played for high stakes
• Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
• Stood the test of time
• Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

The 2009 Class of the Poker Hall of Fame will be inducted as part of the World Series of Poker Main Event final table festivities in November.

41 different names received multiple nominations during the public nomination process. All of these individuals are still eligible for future consideration. Among the people receiving nominations, but not enough to continue on in the process this year were:

• Patrik Antonius
• Humberto Brenes
• Mike Caro
• Norman Chad
• Allen Cunningham
• Ivan Demidov
• Eric Drache
• Annie Duke
• John Duthie
• Sam Farha
• Chris Ferguson
• Ted Forrest
• Andy Glazer
• Bertrand Grospellier
• Gus Hansen
• Jennifer Harmon-Traniello
• Jay Heimowitz
• Rob Hollink
• Jesper Hougaard
• Phil Laak
• Howard Lederer
• Marcel Luske
• Mike Matusow
• Chris Moneymaker
• Luca Pagano
• Greg Raymer
• Matt Savage
• David Sklansky

An interesting side note to this process. Existing Poker Hall of Fame members still received multiple votes! Doyle Brunson, Phil Hellmuth and Stu Ungar each had public nominations despite the fact they are already in the Poker Hall of Fame!

Related Links
Nevada Gambling
Ranked Online Poker Rooms

Featured Vendors
Sunkist Graphics, Inc.
Casino Schedule Ease
Sunkist Graphics, Inc.
Specializing in the creation of best-of-breed gaming graphics - slot glass, sign faces, and more
Casino Schedule Ease
Get a 90-Day Free Trial of 100% contactless, customizable table game & full casino scheduling
Slot Machines Unlimited
Rymax Marketing Services, Inc.
Slot Machines Unlimited
Exporter of IGT, Williams, AVP, Trimline, Aristocrat, Konami, Bally, & parts over 20 yrs experience
Rymax Marketing Services, Inc.
Leader in creating award winning player & employee loyalty programs & events proven to increase ROI
Casino Essentials
Casino Essentials
The Ultimate Online Training Platform for the Casino Industry
22nd Annual TribalNet Conference & Tradeshow Nov 8-11, 2021 Gaylord Texan Resort, Grapevine TX
Castle Merchandising Inc
Betson Imperial Parts & Service
Castle Merchandising Inc
Brand Name Products for your Player Rewards and Loyalty Programs
Betson Imperial Parts & Service
You one stop shop for all your gaming and OEM needs!
Gaming Tickets, Inc.
RSA Executive Search
Gaming Tickets, Inc.
35 years in the gaming industry - premium quality slot tickets, lottery tickets on time under budget
RSA Executive Search
A Boutique Search firm specializing in the Recruitment of Hospitality and Gaming Entrepreneurs
Breathe Easy with Smokefree Casinos- a project of the American Nonsmokers’ Rights Foundation
Bar Maid Corporation
Breathe Easy with Smokefree Casinos- a project of the American Nonsmokers’ Rights Foundation
Breathe easier during COVID-19. We can help you reopen smokefree for everyone’s health.
Bar Maid Corporation
Clean and dry thousands of chips, dice and tiles per hour with the high-speed CHIP CHAMPION machine!
Elite Gaming USA
Slot-Tickets Worldwide
Elite Gaming USA
Provides a diverse inventory of refurbished gaming equipment and supplies from top manufacturers
Slot-Tickets Worldwide
Slot-Tickets® Worldwide, The Original and Still the Best.

Your Guide to 15,779 Gaming Industry Suppliers